Pinking / surging

Need some help? Put your question up here. Many years of experience on the board to help you get up and running.

Moderators: oldjapanesebikes, H2RICK, diamondj, Suzsmokeyallan

Clive 2
Still in the Driveway
Suzuki 2-Strokes: 1972 t500j

Pinking / surging

Post by Clive 2 »

Hi.
My name is Clive and I reside in the U.K. I have been riding bikes since the age of six (49 years ago) and riding on the road since 1982.
I usually run Italain bikes but being a keen 2 stroke fan I recently purchased a 72' T500.
The bike is in very good original condition with only the tank and side panel/oil tank having received paint.
Due to a protracted registration process - the bike was imported from the Isle of Man, I have only just recently started to use the bike on the road and it is having a few issues.

The bike starts first kick - cold or hot, and idles nicely at 11 to 12 hundred rpm with the carb at the factory settings.
When it is first started and used it runs flawlessly, pulls well and sounds and feels crisp.
The problem is when it is thoroughly warm. It starts to surge badly on the over-run and starts to emit a mettalic noise from the left cylinder at around quarter throttle and more curiously when I close the throttle to change cog. If i stop and let the bike cool down it starts first kick and runs great till it gets up to temp.

I have thoroughly cleaned the carb and checked all the jetting is per specs, which it is.
I have also replaced the points, condensor and coils and checked the timing which is set at 2 degrees retarded from the factory setting.
Another thing I ahve noticed is that the left header pipe is blueing.

I have come to the conclusion that the bike is drawing air into the left cylinder from somewhere. There appears to be no blow-by around the head gasket and jiggling the carb at idle produces no change to speed or note. This leaves the left hand outboard crank seal although there is no oily residue around the generator or in the cover.