'74 GT550 front brake questions

Need some help? Put your question up here. Many years of experience on the board to help you get up and running.

Moderators: oldjapanesebikes, H2RICK, diamondj, Suzsmokeyallan

vdavidoff
Around the block

'74 GT550 front brake questions

Post by vdavidoff »

I'm trying to rebuild the front brakes on my '74 GT550 and I have a few questions I was hoping you all could help me answer.

When I bought the bike the brake lever was gutted. I have a master cylinder rebuild kit, which I believe comes with all those guts, but I have no idea how the parts all fit together. Does anyone have a picture or description of this? I have the Tokico master cylinder and caliper.

It is safe to assume I should be able to blow air through both sections of brake line for the front brake? If so, then my bottom section is horribly clogged (not even compressed air seems to make it through). It has soaked in evaporust a few times and is still totally jammed. What's my best bet? Guitar string or something like that?

I'm also having issues getting the old piston out of the caliper, but I found some tips on the forum here and will be trying them shortly.

Thanks for your tips!
Andy
two-stroke-brit
Novice racer
Suzuki 2-Strokes: gt750

Re: '74 GT550 front brake questions

Post by two-stroke-brit »

i do remember a member having to clean brake lines with a coat hanger repeatedly.
i am all for new braided lines, they are worth the investment if you are going to keep the bike.
mark
She will never be pretty but hoping she will be a fun ride.

1973 SUZUKI GT750K.=SOLD
yamaha speedtwinn 100 barn find =SOLD
1x 1973 kawasaki H1 (restored)
1x 1973 kawasaki H1 (basket case) =SOLD
1982 HONDA CB900F =SOLD
1982 YAMAHA RD350LC.
1985 RZ350N
Cliff
To the on ramp
Suzuki 2-Strokes: Original owner GT550L

Post by Cliff »

http://www.alpha-sports.com/suzuki_parts.htm" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;