GT550A top end woes

Need some help? Put your question up here. Many years of experience on the board to help you get up and running.

Moderators: oldjapanesebikes, H2RICK, diamondj, Suzsmokeyallan

vulcanman
To the on ramp
Suzuki 2-Strokes: GT550A 1976

GT550A top end woes

Post by vulcanman »

Hi all , im a newbie to here so bear with me .i have a1976 GT550A which i bought last July .she had a newly rebulit engine too and bottom.much of the rolling chassis too .not perfect but very good.have floowed running in procedures to the letter.having had a 380 and a kettle for many years .last Sat on the 550 devloped a death rattle top end left barrel .on stripping found most of the nikasil has worn off and all pistons badly scored .oil supply issues i suspect but need to test oil pump and all feed pipes .however imhaving trouble tracking down any oe std piston sets and someone to re do the nikasil .ive contacted Aptec and awaiting answer on if they can do it .the pistons inthe previous rebuild were Cruzinlines ones which Stan the man says avoid and only use oe ones .any ideas or help be appreciated.by way only oe pistons i could find in uk were at Robinsons at £489 each ! Not even a kit and only had 2 .im thinking of just selling as a non runner as not economical to do .? Cheers bob
Evans Ward
To the on ramp
Suzuki 2-Strokes: 76 GT750, 72 H2 750, 84 RZ350

Re: GT550A top end woes

Post by Evans Ward »

Actually, a lot of the Kawasaki Triples guys have had good luck with the crusin image pistons. If needed, I’d go with Wossner but they aren’t cheap.

That sounds like an expensive issue you have with your GT550. Only you can determine your next steps with it. Good luck!

Where are you located? It helps to put that info on your profile for members to make specific recommendations.
1976 Suzuki GT750 (Maui Blue), 1972 Kawasaki H2 750 Mach IV (Candytone Blue), 1984 Yamaha RZ350 (KRR- Yellow/ Black).
Evans Ward
To the on ramp
Suzuki 2-Strokes: 76 GT750, 72 H2 750, 84 RZ350