1972 T350: Need help on rebore

Need some help? Put your question up here. Many years of experience on the board to help you get up and running.

Moderators: oldjapanesebikes, H2RICK, diamondj, Suzsmokeyallan

GT500-2stroke
Around the block
Suzuki 2-Strokes: GT100, GT500

1972 T350: Need help on rebore

Post by GT500-2stroke »

Recently bought a T350, which needs rebore of cylinder heads.

I am new to the topic of reboring, even though I just know it in theory a little bit about it.

- How much rebore should cost in my area ? ( San Francisco Bay Area ).
- Need help in finding rebore service providers. I prefer local but I am open to reasonably priced providers which are located far away from me and cylinders need to be shipped etc.
Cylinder heads have been taken off the bike currently.
- Topic of rebore came up because previous owner was into middle of it, when he decided to sell it for reason unknown to me.
He said that he had cylinder measurements taken by somebody, and that bike was smoking as the reasons for reboring.
He also said that measurements showed that cylinder heads need reboring.
As per him crank seals are not a cause for smoking.
- I called few local repair shops, but nobody is able to do rebore on this bike.

Appreciate any help on help..

Thanks in advance.
karl pa
To the on ramp
Suzuki 2-Strokes: GT

Re: 1972 T350: Need help on rebore

Post by karl pa »

GT500-2stroke wrote:He said that he had cylinder measurements taken by somebody, and that bike was smoking as the reasons for reboring.
GT500-2stroke wrote:As per him crank seals are not a cause for smoking.
I would not put much faith in what he told you. Crank seals are one of the biggest reasons these engines smoke !!!
Two stroke engines are not like 4 stroke engines where when the piston gap opens it pulls oil from below the piston.