Setting Timing for 1976 Suzuki GT250A

Getting your blazingly fast Suzuki powerplant to perform even better!

Moderators: oldjapanesebikes, H2RICK, diamondj, Suzsmokeyallan

TJCOOL
On the main road
Suzuki 2-Strokes: 1976 SUZUKI GT 250A

Setting Timing for 1976 Suzuki GT250A

Post by TJCOOL »

Hi

Having trouble finding data info on how to set the timing on my bike. I'm new at this restoring thing and sure could use some help\direction on how to set timing. The timing apparently is off because she won't start and when attempts to push start it results in some back firing...someone said timing was off so for the first time in my life I'm going to set this timing and eventually restore the bike. For the time being I'd like to at least get it started. My manuals don't seem to have anything directly for this and especially for timing-for-dummies :shock: ...

any ideas and\or notes\links would be very much appreciated....and one more thing..what and where can i get the necessary equipment to set timing...light,timing tester and timing gauge?....probably should have these right?

thanks

Terry
Craig380
Expert racer

Re: Setting Timing for 1976 Suzuki GT250A

Post by Craig380 »

Hi and yes, setting the timing can be finicky but it's not hard, providing you take it logically.