Which engine for my hybrid?

Getting your blazingly fast Suzuki powerplant to perform even better!

Moderators: oldjapanesebikes, H2RICK, diamondj, Suzsmokeyallan

PeterG
Still in the Driveway
Suzuki 2-Strokes: None

Which engine for my hybrid?

Post by PeterG »

Hello all,

I'm new to the forum, but I think I might be needing to use it on a regular basis.

I am new to two strokes, I've had BSA Bantams, Greeves, a Lambretta, a 76 registered Kwaka H2, and even a 50cc Suzuki in the 60s and 70s. But I never did anything to them, except clean feathered plugs and pour yet more petrol into the Kwaka. I have a lot of experience with four strokes, I assembled (that is put together, from parts we had sourced from other experts.) racing engines for classic Jaguars, Ford Small Block V8s and British Fords for over 20 years. However 2 strokes are a completely different science!

I have three BSA A65s. One a 66 model has no engine, so just to do something different, I thought I'd put a 2 stroke in it. First thought is Kawasaki, but do a little research, and Suzuki comes up as probably the better choice. Which one? I don't necessarily want the complexity of a water cooled 750, a 550 and a 500 must be fairly similar in terms of output, but the 550 is substantially wider than a 500, you have to buy three of everything for a 550, and looking at this forum, most people seem to do more on the 500.

I don't want "an all or nothing" motor, just something with a reasonable amount more than stock. Can anyone point me in the direction of where I might get this information please.
Alan H
Moto GP
Suzuki 2-Strokes: 4 x GT550s - J, M, A, B.

Re: Which engine for my hybrid?

Post by Alan H »

Where are you in the UK?
It might be an idea to have a close look at someone's 550 and 500 before you make a decision.