73 ts400 engine rebuild

General discussion about Offroad two-stroke Suzuki motorcycles.

Moderators: oldjapanesebikes, H2RICK, diamondj, Suzsmokeyallan

jcetto
Still in the Driveway
Suzuki 2-Strokes: 1973 suzuki ts400 apache

73 ts400 engine rebuild

Post by jcetto »

hi guys im new to the cite and just recently bought a blown up 73ts400 apache i have all the seals and everything to get the job done was just wandering if anybody had any advice on piston to cylinder clearance i have a second over 83mm wiseco piston the book i have was published in oct of 76 and says .075-.085mm is that good any advice on anything would be great thanks alot
H2RICK
AMA Superbike
Suzuki 2-Strokes: GT550A, GSF1200SK6 currently

Re: 73 ts400 engine rebuild

Post by H2RICK »

You SHOULD have a piston clearance spec from Wiseco marked on the box and/or on the paperwork IN the box with the piston. Otherwise, you'll have to contact Wiseco. I do know, however, that forged pistons like the stuff Wiseco makes need MORE clearance than the OEM cast pistons.
GT550A Mint & Original
H2A Semi-Hot Rod Built From A Basket Case
KZ650C2 Mint & Original...mostly
GSF1200SK6 Bandit...My LD Ride
Additional H2 projects In Boxes.....
MBD Sufferer
jcetto
Still in the Driveway

Post by jcetto »

Thanks buddy appreciate it I haven't got the piston yet in the mail but will deffinately check it out are you familiar with the oil pumps in those motors were all the year motors use the same pump
H2RICK
AMA Superbike

Post by H2RICK »

were all the year motors use the same pump
Nope....and don't ask me what the exact differences might be.....but it might have something to do with the output amount of oil......or maybe the arrangement for the arm that the cable operates.......or maybe Mikuni made some small internal or external changes to the pump for durability reasons. I wouldn't guarantee any of the above guesses without having an example of each of the various pumps (listed below) on a bench to compare them.