T500 sort of cafe, sort of not, mix and match build

Retro, Wild, Cafe, etc. The stuff only your imagination can come up with.

Moderators: oldjapanesebikes, H2RICK, Suzsmokeyallan

Goldnrust
On the street
Suzuki 2-Strokes: T500 RGV250

T500 sort of cafe, sort of not, mix and match build

Post by Goldnrust »

Hi guys. I've been lurking here for a while, have been meaning to get round to posting about my t500 build for a while. A dull wet afternoon in November seems like the right time to sit down and type it all out. :)

First off, I’m Steve, I live just south of Birmingham, England. I’ve been riding bikes for about 10 years, since my late teens, and have most had small capacity sports bikes and a couple of supermotos. Along side this I’ve had a number of classic cars, but with life moving forwards, new responsibilities and reasons to turn up on time for work, I decided to buy a more modern car and dip my toe into the world of classic bikes.

Straight away I knew I wanted a 2 stroke, I had an RGV250k a few years back and it was brilliant. With this in mind, my search started by looking for a gt250, but the more I read around the more I was tempted by the T500, as a large capacity 2 stroke would be a different riding experience to anything else I’ve ever tried.

Late January this year, I took the plunge and purchased this fairly rough 1972 T500J.

It’s an American import, still needs to be UK registered, but I have the NOVA and the US title, so hopefully when the time comes that won’t be too bad. Engine turned over with some sense of compression, there’s a few bits missing but nothing vital and the wheels look to be in reasonable condition. It seemed as good a starting point as anything else.