Opinions on my rechroming quote

Photos and progress of your restorations, even bikes you had but no longer own.

Moderators: oldjapanesebikes, H2RICK, Suzsmokeyallan

wvc
To the on ramp

Opinions on my rechroming quote

Post by wvc »

Just got back from the local chromers shop. Took the parts from my GT500 restoration project to them to have rechromed. This is my first time having parts rechromed and to say the least I was a bit shell shocked when he handed me the quote for the work. I basically gave them everything chrome from the bike to have redone. Most the parts were in decent condition, just showing their age with some light rust & pitting on a few items. The larger items I knew would be expensive, but some of the smaller items is what really surprised me. The quote for doing the job, including the large ticket items like the mufflers, wheel rims, fenders, etc, came back originally at $3785. :shock: My eyes literally popped out of my head.

A few individual piece prices for example are:
1. Mufflers - $400 each
2. Wheel rims - $300 each
3. triple tree stem top nut - $20
4. stem washer $10
5. rear brake pedal - $90
6. shifter - $65
7. exhaust header pipes - $100 each
8. kickstarter - $75 ( plus another $30 for the lower swivel)
9. handlebars - $150
10. front fender stay / brace - $75
11. front fender - $225

There were a total of about 50 pieces for the whole bike. Do these prices seem about right to everyone else that's had parts rechromed, or did I get taken to the cleaners?? He explained he has 3 main levels of chrome. The first being a "car lot" cheaper chrome, the 2nd being a show chrome, and the 3rd being a high quality, "never leaves the trailer" show queen chrome. I opted for the #2 level which he said is 90 % of what most people choose.