1977GT500-Engine strip

Photos and progress of your restorations, even bikes you had but no longer own.

Moderators: oldjapanesebikes, H2RICK, Suzsmokeyallan

Olafskii
On the street
Suzuki 2-Strokes: 72 GT750, 74 GT750, 75 T500, 76T500, 09 DR650

1977GT500-Engine strip

Post by Olafskii »

I've been away from the forum for a couple of years--mainly to build my shop. I'm back now with a nice shop (instead of a room in the basement) and have a few Suzuki's in the queue for restoration. I live in Northern British Columbia. Up here some trade specialties are a little thin on the ground-specifically crankshaft rebuilders. So I send my cranks to Vancouver by Canada Post and then a few months later, drive down pick them up during a family and friends visit.

I picked up this T500 from a local rural property where it was mouldering away in a chicken coop. It's a 106700-series serial number so one of the last GT500s to be built in Hamamatsu. I'm new to T500's but have done a few GT750s. Hopefully my learning curve will be measured.

Bike in the shop and ready for engine removal

Engine out and on the bench. Exhaust bolts were not seized! A few case screws were missing but none of the remaining JIS screws were badly mashed.
Aside from some 'inch' bolts holding the back of the exhausts, everything looks good so far. I built the stand so that the engine can be tilted forward to access all the case bolts on the bottom. When I tilted the engine forward to build the stand, about 1/2 cup of water ran out of the left cylinder exhaust port. We'll see shortly damage has resulted. Over the next few days & weeks I'll post photos

Olaf
Alan H
Moto GP
Suzuki 2-Strokes: 4 x GT550s - J, M, A, B.

Re: 1977GT500-Engine strip

Post by Alan H »

Ridden the 500s but never had one - had several 550s instead!
Plenty of spares around anyway, although like everything 2 stroke nowadays, prices are silly.