My New GT550 and a Question

Photos and progress of your restorations, even bikes you had but no longer own.

Moderators: oldjapanesebikes, H2RICK, Suzsmokeyallan

ukfan4sure
On the street
Suzuki 2-Strokes: 1973 GT550

My New GT550 and a Question

Post by ukfan4sure »

First, hello to everyone. I am obviously a Newbie here. :lol:

I just purchase a 550K bike with 7700 miles. It is Lime Green Metallic and in very restorable condition. It will need about a grand to get it streetable including carb work, a battery, tires/tubes, petcock rebuild, paint, and the tank cleaned out. Whew. Now that said, the rest would simply be cosmetics and the other stuff that is bound to crop up which is usually electrical issues.

My first of what will probably be MANY future questions is this: How were the side cases finished on these bikes? I'm looking at these and it looks like they were coated with the same silver paint as the jug heads. Well, for the most part. It seems the painted portion tapers off as the cover progresses from front to the rear of the bike. Is this just my imagination? Or was this someone else's hack job? If indeed it is clearcoated natural aluminum, is is a brushed finish or a polished finish? From the pictures I can find online, it's still indecisive. Most appear to be a slightly brushed finish, not polished to a deep shine.

Can anyone advise on this?

Thanks!!
rngdng
AMA Superbike

Re: My New GT550 and a Question

Post by rngdng »

I'm pretty sure the engine side covers were clear-coated originally. Many of us now-a-days, remove the clear, polish cases to desired appearance, and just polish occasionally. I don't clear-coat them.

Lane
If you stroke it more than twice; you're playing with it.

Too many bikes, too much time, ENOUGH SPACE, FINALLY! Never enough money.........
Alan H
Moto GP
Suzuki 2-Strokes: 4 x GT550s - J, M, A, B.

Post by Alan H »

http://www.kettleclinic.co.uk/kcforum/d ... &mode=view" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;