Suzuki t500 shifter problem. Please help

General discussion about Street two-stroke Suzuki motorcycles.

Moderators: oldjapanesebikes, H2RICK, diamondj, Suzsmokeyallan

dfields82
On the street

Suzuki t500 shifter problem. Please help

Post by dfields82 »

I just stripped down my t500. What I believe is the shift fork shaft is bent, im under the impression that it needs to be straight. Is this something I can repair without cracking the case, is it indicative of other problems? Any help would be greatly appreciated, Im new to motorcycling and hoping to get this bike running by summertime. Also I will try to post some pics of it tomorrow.
GT500Andy
To the on ramp
Suzuki 2-Strokes: T500R, GT500A, TS400, V strom black rhino

Re: Suzuki t500 shifter problem. Please help

Post by GT500Andy »

Better to put some photo's on so we can see what you mean if the fork is bent there must be more things going on.
http://www.alpha-sports.com/suzuki_parts.htm" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false; take a look at the parts cat. maybe it will help with ident ifing the correct part
Andy
dfields82
On the street

Post by dfields82 »

here are some pics, its the rod that attaches to the clutch cable.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
diamondj
Road race school

Post by diamondj »

There's two pieces to the clutch pushrod. The other piece sticks out in the center of the clutch to lift the pressure plate and disengage the clutch. Each push rod has a flat end and a slightly curved end. When you put the new one in, make sure you insert the flat end first.

Speaking of cracking the cases, this may be something you want to think about doing anyway. Since your T500 is a '72 chances are it needs the oil mod done to it:

http://www.ozebook.com/compendium/t500_files/oilmod.htm