Tanked

General discussion about Street two-stroke Suzuki motorcycles.

Moderators: oldjapanesebikes, H2RICK, diamondj, Suzsmokeyallan

tz375
Moto GP

Tanked

Post by tz375 »

Anyone here had any experience repairing tanks with rust holes?

I picked up a tank recently, thanks John (Bighole), and the paint was blistered from rust. When I scraped off teh paint I saw some rather nasty low spots in the metal where the rust was eating its way through.

I fact in a couple of small spots, the tank is rusted through. Most of it is sound, but where the seat rubbed against the back of the tank is the worst area with several small holes.

I have filled the holes with braze and an oxy torch, but I this is not exactly my area of expertise and I'd hate for a fuel tank to leak fuel all over a hot motor when I'm riding it. That would be decidedly sub-optimal.

So does anyone have any advise as to the best way to repair a gas tank?
markj
To the on ramp

Post by markj »

I'm no expert. Although I'm in the process of refurbishing a couple of tanks right now.

Any way you could post a couple of pics for the experts to weigh in on? I know there are some tried methods such as tank lining. But I'm gathering that yours may need a bit more help in spots.
So many Projects - So little time
Coyote
Moto GP
Suzuki 2-Strokes: GT550x2, GT750, GS1000

Post by Coyote »

The POR15 gas tank repair 'kit' comes with a section of cloth for repairing open holes. I haven't had to use it, but it is applied with the tank liner.
If it were me, I would have the tank glass bead blasted so you can see what you are really faced with before throwing money at it. Bead lasting might reveal that it's too far gone to fart with. Good luck!
GT Tim
Yeah Man, the Interstate

Post by GT Tim »

Coyote wrote: If it were me, I would have the tank glass bead blasted so you can see what you are really faced with before throwing money at it. Bead lasting might reveal that it's too far gone to fart with. Good luck!

+1