New member Intro

General discussion about Street two-stroke Suzuki motorcycles.

Moderators: oldjapanesebikes, H2RICK, diamondj, Suzsmokeyallan

jojob
On the street
Suzuki 2-Strokes: GSXR 750 1976 GT500

New member Intro

Post by jojob »

Hello everyone,

I just wanted to say hi, and hoping to get a lot of help from everyone. I picked up what I guess is a 76 GT500 this weekend(basically a barn find). The story is that someone was trying to build it back up, but passed away. It has been sitting in someone's barn for last 6 yrs. Supposedly at the time, it had spark and the guy was just trying to find a petcock for it, but couldn't. I am now the new owner, and trying to figure out what I want to do to it. I thought about just parting it out, but I do enjoy bringing stuff back to life. I know this bike needs a lot of work to bring it fully back, but it does have a spark, so I am going to hook gas to it tomorrow and see if it will at least start. I am new to these older bikes, and have only really worked on 90's and up bikes. So I am a little lost. I have looked for a "break-down" manual, but I guess they didn't have them back then. As you can probably guess this bike is older than I am. Anyways, I will post some pics, and please feel free to comment or give any suggestions or help that you want.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
jojob
On the street

Re: New member Intro

Post by jojob »

More photos; not sure why some of them are showing up sideways.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
ConnerVT
Novice racer
Suzuki 2-Strokes: T500R (now), T500M (40 yrs ago)

Post by ConnerVT »

GTandcbr
Yeah Man, the Interstate
Suzuki 2-Strokes: suzuki gt 550j

Post by GTandcbr »