Ron Grant T500 racer bottom end parts

General discussion about Street two-stroke Suzuki motorcycles.

Moderators: oldjapanesebikes, H2RICK, diamondj, Suzsmokeyallan

Canam
Still in the Driveway
Suzuki 2-Strokes: T500, Canam

Ron Grant T500 racer bottom end parts

Post by Canam »

I have been working for a few years to restore what I believe to be a T500 upgraded by Ron Grant for a customer back in the 1970's. When I got it it was very rusty from sitting a dozen years in an open pole barn. The body work, chassis pieces and some engine components were clearly from the 1970's. There were a few more recent additions like rear sets from the 1990's, but mostly it was in a time warp. See the report on its first chassis test here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=htmZu8S-RmI&t=88s

The top end had Grant's Street Sleeper porting, slightly milled heads, pod filters, Jemco street chambers and a Boyer electronic generator ignition. No amount of work and testing seemed to be able to make the ignition last more than 10 miles at a time. Dozens of 4 -7 mile successful tests, but after 10 miles it was headed home on a trailer. I replaced the entire system with a Powerdynamo generator electronic ignition. Not exactly cutting edge by today's standards, but at least it keeps running and stays in time.

I have been looking for bottom end parts since they seem to be all stock production pieces. I have been searching for the pieces Grant illustrated in his two articles in 1972 on hopping up the T500: stuffers, lightened crank and close ratio gears.

I finally found a set of stuffers and crank and after a year of trying was able to buy them. Image
The stuffers are completely usuable, but the crank is only good for measuring to make another.