Advice on a GT750

General discussion about Street two-stroke Suzuki motorcycles.

Moderators: oldjapanesebikes, H2RICK, diamondj, Suzsmokeyallan

nzfrank
Still in the Driveway
Suzuki 2-Strokes: none

Advice on a GT750

Post by nzfrank »

Hi,
I am new to Suzukis, but not to 2-strokes.
I am after a GT750 and a RE5 and have found 2 GT750s that I would love some advice on regarding originality, investment value in the future and amount needed to be spent to restore any non original bits.
Many thanks in advance
Kind Regards
Frank
Here are links to the 2 bikes:
https://www.trademe.co.nz/a.aspx?id=146 ... 539D27C601" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
https://www.trademe.co.nz/a.aspx?id=146 ... 539D27C601" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
rngdng
AMA Superbike

Re: Advice on a GT750

Post by rngdng »

Two very nice examples. I personally prefer the 74 L model (the orange one), but the 72 was "the first". It doesn't have the flange-mounted carbs, so it's not one of the very early ones. The front drum brake can be adjusted to work very well, so I don't think that's an issue.

I can't comment on the prices, as I don't know your market.
If you stroke it more than twice; you're playing with it.

Too many bikes, too much time, ENOUGH SPACE, FINALLY! Never enough money.........
jabcb
Moto GP
Suzuki 2-Strokes: 69 T350 thru 75 GT750

Post by jabcb »

From a quick look…

The 1972 looks correct except for the aftermarket fairing, aftermarket luggage rack, and missing mirrors. It has been repainted & the white decals are not correct.