Inexperienced newbie needs help

General discussion about Street two-stroke Suzuki motorcycles.

Moderators: oldjapanesebikes, H2RICK, diamondj, Suzsmokeyallan

pgb123
Around the block
Suzuki 2-Strokes: GT550

Inexperienced newbie needs help

Post by pgb123 »

Hi all -

About 5 years ago, I acquired a GT550. I've been unsure of the date, but now I believe it's a '76 A because it has the short front fender with a single fender stay. Anyway, the bike was started and idled fine when I acquired it. It then sat in my garage untouched for a year or so when I finally shifted my attention back to it and started it up. It smoked like crazy, but it did start up. I turned it off to clear the smoke out of my garage and when I went to start it up again, the engine turned over a few times, but wouldn't start. Eventually. the starter only clicked and nothing else happened and soon I managed to just kill the battery.

As you can see, I have zero motorcycle experience and I'm a slow learner!

Fast forward many years to this morning - I purchased a new battery and installed it this morning. Added some 95 gas to the tank and tried to start it up. At first, the engine turned over. I turned it over several times, tried to kick start it at the same time, but it just wouldn't catch. Eventually, just clicking. I waited a few minutes and tried again. It turned over again and after a few more tries, it sounded like it was catching and then a few pops and a loud clack and then nothing. I tried the starter a few more time and then smoke started coming up from underneath the fuel tank. It smelled like something electrical.

I let everything cool down and though I know I shouldn't have, I tried to start it up again. I think I got it to turn over again and heard some more popping like it was going to start, but it didn't and I killed the battery.