GT750 converted to CVT for A Modified Autocross car

General discussion about Street two-stroke Suzuki motorcycles.

Moderators: oldjapanesebikes, H2RICK, diamondj, Suzsmokeyallan

RoyalViking
Still in the Driveway
Suzuki 2-Strokes: GT380, GT750

GT750 converted to CVT for A Modified Autocross car

Post by RoyalViking »

Rather than add onto the cylinder removal thread I decided post this separately. I bought a basket case years ago and assembled it to race it one time. Due to the throttle slide coming off of the throttle cable the #3 cylinder siezed while racing the car and it sat since 2010. Recently I found motivation to work on it again. I pulled the head and then the cylinders off and found that #3 is pretty bad. I'm new to 2 strokes and didn't realize the loss in power was the piston seizing.

So no worries, I thought I could replace the pistons and rings and have it going again in no time. It turns out that the cylinders were bored out to 72mm and after asking a machine shop check my measurements they confirmed that the cylinders are worn beyond their limit. Unfortunately the cylinders were ported too. I have searched and I guess 72mm is the largest oversize piston available. I contacted a couple places to see if cylinder plating could restore the bores. Their recommendation is to have the #3 cylinder sleeved but they didn't answer my question about plating.

I have another engine case, cylinder, and head that were part of the original purchase as a spare (it is a 1975). I checked the wear and I have to go to .5mm oversize if I plan to use this one.

I'd like to be able to use the original cylinders if possible. Wiseco can make a custom set of 72.5mm pistons. They have a minimum run of 12 at about 145 a piston (piston, rings, and I think the wrist pin was included). Since there are 2 left hand pistons and 1 right hand piston per engine that would leave me with 6 sets unless I had a total of 24 left hand pistons made. It all sounded great until I did the math.