New member - anyone need info about Deal's Gap?

The Kawasaki Triple guys started it but we can be part of it too.

Moderators: oldjapanesebikes, H2RICK, diamondj, Suzsmokeyallan

CaptCatFish
On the street

New member - anyone need info about Deal's Gap?

Post by CaptCatFish »

Hi People,

I'm a newbie to the Forum but live just minutes away from Deal's Gap. I'll be happy to provide members with any info (where to stay, where to eat, where to ride in addition to the Gap, etc.) they might need prior to coming here.

If you've never ridden here, please be careful. We lose a few riders every year to the Gap and the Cherohala Skyway.

CaptCatFish
1972 Suzuki T500; 1990 Suzuki DR350; 1967 Chevy Stepside
Cliff
To the on ramp
Suzuki 2-Strokes: Original owner GT550L

Re: New member - anyone need info about Deal's Gap?

Post by Cliff »

I rode down there from Toronto for the first time this year! Did the Dragon and the Cherohala!
Going to do the Moonshiner next summer!!
I learned a lesson though this year. Next year I'm bringing beer!!! Who'd have thought that Robbinsville is in a dry county!
Cliff!
CaptCatFish
On the street

Post by CaptCatFish »

Yep, its "dry" alright. Pick up trash on any road and count the beer cans. Funny thing is how the Baptist preachers and bootleggers climb in bed together to rail against the evils of drinking anytime there's a petition to legalize it.

IMO, being "dry" has actually contributed to deaths in our county rather than reduce them. Our DUI fatality rate is twice that of surrounding "wet" counties because locals (and others) drive out of county to buy alcohol, then drink and drive all the way home. These mountain roads are pretty unforgiving.......

There are folks with some sense here trying to get alcohol legalized so that we can keep the sales tax and revenue in county (like the other 99 counties in NC). Not to mention reduce DUI-related deaths.......